Melba Post

I have a big post planned for tomorrow, so this is my little post. Or Melba post, if you will. And if you get that reference, you’re already my kind of people. I’ve followed and enjoyed other people’s blogs for a long time. I’ve been on Twitter, interacting with some of those bloggers, for a while now and thought that was plenty. But I started to realize that some of the things I wanted to say needed more than just 140 characters. A lot more, if my propensity to talk in real life is any kind of indication.

I always wanted to be the kind of person who faithfully kept a journal. When I was younger, almost every year on the first of January, I would faithfully write the first entry in a brand new journal. It was always mind-numbingly boring, since January 1 falls during Christmas break. All you have to talk about at that point are the things you got for Christmas a week ago; big news to your diary-self, but old hat to your real self. Inevitably, by the second of January, I would forget to write, or promise myself to do two entries the next day to catch up. We all know where this is going.

So I’m not going to make any promises about posting frequency or length. This may be a flash in the pan. Or it may just end up being a place that I come periodically to get something off my chest. Or I might get in some kind of habit. There’s no way of knowing. You’ll just have to stick around and find out.

5 thoughts on “Melba Post

Leave a Reply

