Quick Takes

*Work is still insane, which is most of the reason I haven’t been posting lately. I’m so spent by the time I get home, I just want to zone out in front of the television. I’m finally getting to a point where I’m doing actual work, rather than just cleaning up messes or putting out fires. But I still feel like I’ve got a mountain to climb. It’s just going to take a while.

*Speaking of zoning out in front of the television, we started watching the first season of Scandal. And I’m smitten. It’s like the love child of Shonda Rhimes and Aaron Sorkin. It has smart, fast-paced dialogue, interesting story lines, and likeable characters. I’m so glad I don’t have to wait for the second season to start, because a premiere season of only seven episodes feels like a terrible tease.

*I bought a plane ticket today to go visit my brother and sister-in-law in a couple of weeks. I haven’t seen them or my niece in over a year and I’ve never met my nephew, who was born in July. I’m beyond excited to see them all. I’m also giddy about going on a trip to somewhere that hasn’t completely given up on summer yet, as we’re already fully entrenched in fall. I’m going to get one last wearing out of all my summery clothes before they get cast aside for sweaters and sixteen other layers.

*Now that fall is on its way, I can’t wait for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. It’s on ridiculously early here and is always super cheesy, but I love it anyway. It really is the harbinger of the holiday season for me and I’m totally nostalgic about it. There’s just a certain feeling about watching it that makes me cozy and happy.

*Some of you know that I sing with the worship band at church on Sundays. I went to a mini-conference this weekend that focused on worship teams and church musicians in our area, and one of the breakout sessions was a voice class. Now, I’ve attended this conference before and gone to the breakout session for vocalists, and it was awful. The leader of the session basically assumed none of us already knew how to sing and it was like being in sixth-grade choir all over again. But this year, the leader of the session was different woman and the session was fantastic. So much so, that I hit up the instructor afterward to see if she gives private lessons. I’ve gone back and forth on the idea of private lessons for years. On the one hand, I’ve been singing since I could talk but I have no illusions that I’m going to be a professional vocalist someday. It feels a little pretentious and hair-flippy, Dahling. But I also feel like there’s nothing wrong with wanting to improve yourself, just for the sake of improvement. I don’t have as wide a vocal range as I used to, nor do I take care of my voice as well as I should, and it would be good to learn (or relearn) some good habits. So I may start voice lessons in the spring, when she has a little more time to teach.

*As a corollary to the last point, I was totally intimidated to talk to the instructor after the session. She has an INCREDIBLE voice and also holds a fine arts degree specializing in vocal…something. Whatever. She’s fancy and professional and way out of my league. Do you ever do that? Convince yourself not to join conversations, or introduce yourself, or try something new because someone or something feels way too cool for you? I sabotage myself like that all. the. time. In this instance, I’m so glad I ignored the run-and-hide instinct, because she was totally nice and very friendly. We ended up talking for quite a while and, even if I don’t end up taking lessons, I made a connection with someone local who has similar interests. I need to start taking a few more risks like this. I think they pay off more often than they don’t.

*I have recently had several dreams that involve people I only know online. Is that normal? Do other people do that? I’ve never met these women, yet there they are, in my dreams, being awesome. It’s a little strange, but also reminds me that these relationships are real and have a positive effect on me. The internet isn’t all imaginary people, pretending to interact with me. Thanks for being awesome, guys.

2 thoughts on “Quick Takes

  1. I dream about online people, and I keep seeing tweets about other people’s dreams, so I don’t think it’s just us =). I love our corner of the internet; so many wonderful, nice people!!

Leave a Reply

