Call Me Alexander

Monday was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. Long story, more work drama, tears before 9:00 AM, blah blah blah. It basically boiled down to this: my mentor (and colleague and ally and friend) left our company to go manage a start-up that will be in direct competition to us (and to me specifically, due to the nature of our job). I’ve only been doing this for a year, whereas he has over thirty years of experience. It’s not going to be a fair fight.

So for those of you keeping score at home, this is now the third full-time position that I’ll be expected to cover. Without any additional compensation. The good news is that I can’t cover this one and the one I’ve been covering since September simultaneously because of the enormous conflict of interest. So at least I’m getting rid of some responsibilities. Probably.

All of this to say that the news sent me in to somewhat of a spiral. I was scrambling to understand what the ramifications would be for me and for my company. In my niche industry, one person really can make that kind of difference. But then I realized just how tired I am of being consumed with this job. Particularly since September, when things got crazy around here, I feel like I live and die with the job. I know from experience that’s a sure-fire road to job burnout and I can feel it coming. So instead, I’m going to make a concerted effort to focus on the things outside of work that I’m excited about right now.

  • OK, I am excited about one work-related thing. I have my own desk now! Not one I’m sharing with someone else, not one I’m squatting at temporarily, not one shoved in a corner just to give me a place to perch. A real desk of my own for good. It may not seem like a lot but it has taken well over a year to get to this point. (Let’s ignore the fact that it’s my mentor’s old desk.)
  • PJs at TJ’s is coming in ten days and I can’t wait. A pajama party in a sunny location with fabulous people (including my sister) and copious amounts of snacks? Sold.
  • I ordered really cute PJs online and can’t wait to get to Phoenix and wear them.
  • I’m putting together this round of Crappy Day Presents and I’m having a lot of fun with it. It helps me get out of myself and think about someone else. I’m also looking forward to the new batch coming to me. I have a feeling I’m going to need them in the coming weeks.
  • Little L continues to be an absolute source of joy. She started walking at eight and a half months and is pretty much unstoppable at this point. She and her daddy are taking swimming lessons now, leading to text messages with pictures like this one.
    Little L Swim
    I can’t even. She’s just so ridiculous in her baby body standing there like a toddler. She’s so wee to be wandering around like a big kid, but there she is.
  • I’m trying to schedule a haircut before PJs at TJ’s. I know I’m cutting it close (heh) but I’m hoping my hairdresser will have time to squeeze me in. My “bangs” are now chin-length and not really bangs at all anymore, so it’s time. My hairdresser is hilarious and irreverent and fabulous and it’s always great therapy going to see her. Plus, the hair wash alone is worth the price of admission.
  • It’s starting to still be light when I leave work. It’s light for more than half of the hour-long drive and I can’t even tell you how much this helps. February is one of the toughest months here because it’s just…still winter. In February, winter starts to feel endless. It’s still two months from break-up, three months from unfrozen lakes and four months from any measurably warm days. But the light slowly coming back gives me a little bit of a break. A little bit of hope that winter isn’t forever.
  • We’re singing one of my favorite songs at church this week. It’s a song that I get to lead and I really get to belt it. It’s such a fun song to sing.

That’s my list right now. What are you excited about? What’s helping to offset the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad for you?

*****

This post was written last night, with the intention of posting it this morning. Instead, I got into a car accident on the way to work. So, here’s a new list.

  • It could have been so. much. worse.
  • I am not hurt. I will probably be sore, but nothing major.
  • The other person is not hurt.
  • The other car is not damaged.
  • My car is damaged but I have good insurance and only a $250 deductible.
  • My insurance covers most of a rental car so I will not have to stress about how to get to work over 50 miles from home.
  • I needed a new headlight on that side anyway.

So, again. What’s your list? Help me, because as the week moves on I am having more and more trouble brightsiding this crap. I need SOMEONE to be having a good week, even if it’s not me.

8 thoughts on “Call Me Alexander

  1. I am getting all sorts of happy “I sent my CDP” messages, and soon I’ll be getting all sorts of “Squee! My CDP arrived!” messages =). Swistle’s surprise package arrived today, and it sounds like it made her day =). It’s looking like Husband will NOT need to do 3 more days of guard duty (including a Saturday and the holiday on Monday)! I am not doing very well in BBL, but I am not above my starting weight, which I am counting as a WIN, considering the circumstances of the past few weeks. Aaaand that’s about it for me because Quiet Time is now over and The Witching Hours are about to begin!

    SO glad you weren’t hurt in the accident!! (hugs)

  2. Oh, lady. I’m sorry you’re having a rough week, and it SUCKS that you got in an accident. So happy you’re not hurt!

    I’m glad you found some cute pajamas, too! I didn’t sign up for this round of the CDPE and I wish I had. Oh well, next time! I’ve been loving the extra light lately, too. It must be SO hard to live in so much darkness during the winter.

    I’m getting my hair cut on Saturday. It’s been a full year since I had it cut and colored last, so I’m really excited. And, I got a raise at work!

    Here’s hoping your list grows on the happy side and shrinks on the yucky side.

  3. 1- I get to meet you in 8 days
    2- I will be hanging out with you, your sister, and 20ish other internet lady friends
    3- I will leave with a big bag of cute new clothes for Eleanor
    4-my mother’s scale is nicer to me than mine at home so I’m actually excited to see the number for BBL weigh in
    5- Eleanor broke her tooth in probably the easiest possible way to fix/cope long term
    6- Though I won’t get to see J on Valentine’s day, except by video chat, this Sunday my dad is getting re- baptized and we’re having a baby dedication for Eleanor to, so cake and party soon.

  4. Pingback: Times, They Are A’Changing | Always Order Both

  5. Pingback: The (Painful, Grueling, Mind-Numbing) Search is Over! | Always Order Both

Leave a Reply

