They Put a Bird On It

Every year for the last four, I’ve gone to this fundraiser for a local church. The church members spend all year refinishing furniture, repurposing various items into cooler items, and crafting. I’m not explaining it well, but it’s things like drawers turned into footstools, cabinets repainted and turned into kitchen islands, etc. Its a little like the DIY section of Pinterest exploded (in a good way). To give you a better idea, here’s a picture of last year’s goods before the mad dash started (it has turned into a pretty popular event).

20131026-154207.jpg

And this is one of the tables from last year. It made me wish I had bright colors like that in my decorating scheme, because I thought it was awesome.

20131026-154551.jpg

In past years, I’ve bought a desk, a bench, a shelf, a coat rack, a curio-type cabinet, and various smaller crafts. The prices are generally quite reasonable and the ladies who run it are just so sweet. This year, I didn’t really need any furniture, so I focused on the smaller items. I was actually first in line to go in this morning, but was immediately outstripped by this woman who pulled out her own hot pink stickers with “SOLD” pre-printed on them and just started slapping them everywhere without even looking at prices. I’m convinced she has a shop somewhere and she’s going to mark everything up and resell it. She bought way too much stuff to fit in one house. I’m annoyed because it kind of takes the fun out of browsing, and the thought of her turning a profit feels like undermining the hard work and fundraising efforts of the church. I mean, I guess there’s no RULE against it or anything. I just don’t think it’s very nice.

ANYWAY. I got a few really fun things this year. When I was little, we used to cut strips of paper and loop them together in a chain as a countdown to something exciting. Did anybody else do this? We made them for Christmas, birthdays, a fun trip, that sort of thing. You make them with as many links as there are days left, then rip one off every day until The Day. When I stumbled across this at the sale, I knew I had to have it.

20131026-155837.jpg

It’s a Christmas countdown chain made out of adorable fabric! They’re looped together with Velcro and reuseable!

20131026-160311.jpg

They’d be so easy to make myself, but I never would have thought of it. I figured the asking price was worth it not to hassle with it myself, except now i want to make them for everyone! The next thing I got was these fabric blocks.

20131026-160639.jpg

I’ve bought fabric blocks from this sale before as a gift and they were a hit. One panel is crinkly, and they have a rattle or bell inside. I have a friend who just had a baby boy so that’s where these are headed. The next item I snagged the second I saw it. Who doesn’t want a hobby horse that’s actually a moose?!

20131026-161501.jpg

My nephew needs it, I just don’t know how I’m going to ship it to the East Coast. There was also a fabric fishing set (a pole with a string and a hook and puffy fabric fish with ribbon loops at the nose) but they were a little spendy and I think I can make them myself. (The question is, will I ever get around to it?)

I picked up this cute, matching pair for my bedroom.

20131026-161902.jpg

The image is actually burned in to the wood rather than being painted on. The edges are painted teal, which is prominent in my bedroom. I inadvertently developed a little bit of a bird thing in decorating in my house, so I’m now actively playing in to it. Which leads me to the last thing I bought. It’s brighter colors than I normally would choose, but something about it just pulled me in. (Sorry about the awful glare on the glass. I tried to minimize it.)

20131026-162210.jpg

I think it’s just the kind of eccentricity I need in my life. Or my house. Or both. Probably both.

The only thing I’m sad I missed out on was this great coffee table on casters that would have gone perfectly in my living room. I want a coffee table, but not a stationary one because the couch ends recline. I also want to be able to push it out of the way when people come over. I saw it about 30 seconds too late, just as someone else was claiming it. I probably didn’t need to spend the money (it was more than all my other items combined), but I’m bummed just the same. In a funny twist, my mom (who was with me) knows the woman who bought it. I told her if she ever doesn’t want it anymore just to let me know. I’d be happy to take it off of her hands.

6 thoughts on “They Put a Bird On It

  1. You POSTED! More with the posting, I say. I’m really bummed I couldn’t go this year, but my wallet just sighed with relief, so I’m guessing it’s all for the best. I’m so glad you bought that arty birdish thing. It’s so pretty and a little outside your decorating zone and I just LOVE it!

  2. I can’t tell you how many times that lady with her pink tags has crossed my mind in the last couple of days. I get that it’s within the rules, and that she pays the requested price, so the church itself doesn’t lose any money. But then… the event isn’t as fun for other people. People get turned off and might not come back again. People leave with a bad taste in their mouths, and while it’s not fair if it’s directed toward the church, and might be directed toward that woman right NOW, in a year or so, when the sale comes around again, some people will just remember that they didn’t have a great time, and might not go back. And then SHE might stop going, and all the people she turned off aren’t going, either. And that’s to say nothing of her reselling the work that other people put a lot of effort into… which, again, gray area, I guess… technically FINE but I don’t LIKE IT.

    It’s just been agitating at me because I know it’s FINE, but it’s not really FINE. I JUST DON’T LIKE IT. She’s a ruiner. She’s a taker advantager. She gives zero craps about the experience of other people, and cares only about what she can gain, at what she KNOWS is minimal expense and maximum profit for herself, because those items were intended for personal home purchasers, not professional sellers. I hate people who deliberately ruin things for other people. I just can’t stand it.

    • It’s like one mind. Everything you just said is exactly how I feel about it. I JUST DON’T LIKE IT. It’s just not nice. I have many of their items in my home and very much enjoy them. She is getting no enjoyment. Just getting money and taking AWAY enjoyment for the rest of us.

      Pink Tag Lady sucks.

  3. Pingback: Day One | Always Order Both

  4. Pingback: A Person Who Sews | Always Order Both

  5. Pingback: Christmas Countdown Chain Tutorial | Always Order Both

Leave a Reply

