What’s All Your Furniture Pointed At?

I’m running a little low on steam for daily posts, so I checked out Ginger’s “Bring Back The Words” prompts. Week 8 had one that looked interesting to me: “Share your top 10 favorite TV shows.” So, in no particular order, because I couldn’t rank them, here are my favorites. There might be a few more than ten (there are).

Top Ten:
Friends
Do I really need to explain this one? I mean, I could try, but I might not be successful. It’s so funny that it still makes me chuckle, even after seeing every episode numerous times. It’s endlessly quotable, to the point that my sister and I can have entire conversations in quotes. And I can’t pick a favorite episode, although The One With All the Embryos (which coincidentally came on while I was writing this post) and The One Where No One’s Ready are way up there for me.

The West Wing
Oh, this show. The writing, the direction, the characters…I just love it. This is another one Elise and I love to quote. I can’t pick a favorite episode of this one either. Let’s just say the whole first season. I’m not sure there’s a better first season of a show out there.

Chuck
Let’s just set aside my constant adoration for Zachary Levi…OK, we can’t set it aside entirely because he’s such a big reason why the show is so great. He’s so believably dorky. You couldn’t put just any actor in that role and buy them as a regular guy. It has great, geeky in-jokes (Zork!). It has spies and lies and intrigue. And it has mundane cover jobs we can all relate to. If you haven’t seen it yet, it just hit Netflix and is absolutely worth checking out.

Friday Night Lights
What can I say about this show that hasn’t been said a thousand times before by people with better words? I don’t know, but I know I love this show. It’s so real (greatly aided by the fact that the cast was given a lot of leverage to ad-lib and say what came naturally). I especially love the relationship between Coach and Tami. It’s not unbelievably perfect and it’s not unbelievably contentious (like so many shows). They have their ups and downs, but ultimately they are in it together. So many people initially shy away from this show, thinking it’s a show about football. It’s really a show about relationships, leadership, and growing up. It just happens to have football in it.

One Tree Hill
This is one of those guilty pleasures for me. I know it’s soapy, I know it’s a little ridiculous, and I love it anyway. It might have gone on a couple of seasons too long, but I’ll still rewatch it every couple of years.

Psych
This show is so goofy and fun. Gus takes himself a little too seriously and Shawn doesn’t take himself seriously enough. They make a great pair. Add goofy aliases, random dance breaks, and fake psychic abilities, and you’ve got yourself quite a show.

Castle
I haven’t pinpointed exactly what it is that I love about this show. It’s the relationship and banter between Castle and Beckett, it’s the serial cases set within an overarching mystery, it’s Castle’s overall ridiculousness, it’s everything. It’s just so enjoyable. If you aren’t watching it yet, Nathan Fillion should be reason enough.

My Boys
This one is obscure, but it’s awesome. It was a TBS original about a female sportswriter in Chicago that ran for four seasons. As a huge Cubs fan and a woman in a male-dominated profession, I related instantly to the show. Also, it has Jim Gaffigan, who is hilarious.

The Big Bang Theory
I love that geekiness is being celebrated here. My first college was a small, private, STEM-focused school, so this show feels like hanging out with my friends. I KNOW these guys, or close approximations of them. I’ve also spent some time in Pasadena, so every reference to landmarks or streets makes me giggle. I laughed so hard at the first episode of the fourth season that I had a coughing fit and we had to pause it while I recovered and used my inhaler. If that’s not a glowing endorsement, I don’t know what is.

Boy Meets World
This one totally holds up and I can’t wait to see how they approach Girl Meets World. I really hope it’s not a Friends/Joey kind of situation. Like the kind of situation where we have to pretend Joey never happened.

On the Bubble:
How I Met Your Mother
I’m only through the seventh season of this show and I’m hearing some grumbling on Twitter that this season hasn’t been great. But there are some really great stretches in this show and I think it’ll stick for me overall. Ted drives me crazy at times (he can be so…ugh) but he’s usually tempered by the rest of the cast enough for me.

Scandal
This one has major, major potential (I love it so much right now) but I feel like it’s too early to call it.

Honorable Mention:
Dawson’s Creek
This one is purely for nostalgic reasons. Oh, fifteen.

Gilmore Girls
This one is also for nostalgic reasons, mostly because my sister loves it so much that I love it by proxy.

Kings
This one was only on for one season, but it was so good. I was so disappointed when it was cancelled. If you’re unfamiliar, it was a futuristic reframing of the story of David from the Bible, and it’s way better than my lame description just made it sound.

Do these overlap with yours? Based on my list, are there ones you think I’m missing out on?

3 thoughts on “What’s All Your Furniture Pointed At?

  1. My Boys! I loved that show. Do you watch The League? The way the characters interact on that show kind of reminds me of My Boys. And, it’s hilarious. Recommend!

Leave a Reply

