Christmas Cheer or Bust!

There’s a local radio station here that switches exclusively to Christmas music in mid-November. i happened to catch them last night on the way home as they were switching. Yay, CHRISTMAS MUSIC!

I know it’s a little early for some people, but I plan to Happy the CRAP out of the Holidays this year. See, last year was totally lame. I came down with Strep AND Influenza three days before Christmas last year and spent the entire holiday in a drug-induced fog of snot and pain. Apart from my appendicitis, I think that’s the sickest I’ve ever been in my life. I was supposed to sing for church the Sunday before Christmas. Instead, I had to cancel, even though I’d already rehearsed with the band, because I was still contagious.

My dad had to come pick me up to take me to the doctor on Christmas Eve because I couldn’t take myself. I wouldn’t have had to go on Christmas Eve if they’d listened to me when I was there two days before. I TOLD them I thought I had the flu on top of the strep, but once they saw the positive strep test they refused to consider anything else. By the time I went back in on Christmas Eve and they confirmed the flu, it was too late for anti-virals to do me any good. I had to skip Christmas Eve service because I couldn’t even get off the couch. I actually don’t remember much about Christmas itself. I slept a lot.

So I got totally cheated out of my Merry and Bright. I’m getting my revenge this year. I’m planning on two trees, glitter and sparkle everywhere, and a constant, jingly soundtrack. Obviously, I’ve already started sewing and plan to do quite a bit more. Baking will be in there somewhere, too. I have peppermint frosting for sugar cookies and I’ll probably make molasses cookies.

I’ve already watched Home Alone, Christmas Vacation and part of Elf. At minimum, I still need The Holiday, Love Actually, While You Were Sleeping, and another viewing of Elf. I’ll probably even run through the Harry Potters because they always feel Christmassy to me.

I bought my first gifts a couple of weeks ago, but I still have plenty of shopping to do. I like Christmas shopping better earlier in the season, when it’s still festive instead of stressful. I enjoy Black Friday to an extent, but I don’t go out until later in the morning or even until afternoon. If the stuff I wanted is gone, it’s gone. If it’s there, hey, I get a good deal! I try not to make it a high-anxiety thing.

I also need to work on my own wish list. I definitely don’t need anything, but my mom always asks for one so she knows she’s getting us things we want. Mostly my list will be seasons of TV on DVD, books, and music.

At the top of my list this year, though, is a flu shot.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cheer or Bust!

  1. That should be a tag line on your cards: “Happy the crap out of your holidays!” I’m in.

    Also, I had the flu for Christmas one year, too. Terrible. I hope your flu shot is the best ever!

  2. I said to my husband this morning: I wish we could up up the Christmas tree this weekend! And he said “I know” and made no move toward any Christmas stuff. So I’m pretty sure he’s not ready for Christmas yet. Poop.

Leave a Reply

