I’m Just INVENTING New Ways to Spend Money

So this is how my morning started:

20131118-224037.jpg

Not exactly how I imagined my Monday morning. I literally did not even get out of the house before the day went to crap. I still can’t figure quite what happened. I opened it from the button by the door (which I almost never do), then got in the car and backed out. I am almost positive it was completely up when I got in the car. The only thing I can think of is that, out of muscle memory, I hit the button again from inside the car, sending it closed again.

I had to call in for the day because not only was the car trapped but I couldn’t secure the house. The door was hopelessly stuck. Also, repair places and insurance companies are not open at 7:00 in the morning. I got a hold of the repairman about 8:30 and he was so gracious to work me in and come out right away, knowing I was in danger of freezing pipes. Oh, I didn’t mention it was eight degrees below zero?

While he was on his way, I got a hold of my insurance agent’s office. When I told the assistant that I wanted to start a claim on my homeowner’s insurance, she told me I might want to see the estimate first, since my deductible was 1% of the replacement value of the home. I figured on a minor damage claim, the deductible would be around $500. Apparently, not so much. One percent is…significantly more. (I still think I received bad information, but I wasn’t able to sort it out today.)

What I was able to do today was help the repairman jack with the door until it was (mostly) back in the track, could be opened once to free my car, and then could be closed and locked to keep people out and heat in. But I will need an entirely new door. Nothing but the glass is salvageable. I haven’t seen an estimate yet, but I’m expecting horrible news.

Clearly, the moral of the story is that Mondays should be outlawed. Somebody get on that.

One thought on “I’m Just INVENTING New Ways to Spend Money

Leave a Reply

