Planning Ahead

The recent weather has me putting together an overnight kit to stash in the car. Because I live about an hour from where I work, the weather can prevent me from getting home. I want to make sure I can easily arrange to stay close to work and avoid the potentially dangerous highway. I’m trying to keep it to essentials so I don’t have an enormous bag to haul around. Right now it’s in a reusable Target grocery bag and that’s probably fine.

So far, the list looks like this:
• Pajamas (really just sweats and a tee)
• Toothbrush
• Toothpaste
• Deodorant
• Makeup remover wipes (more portable than face wash)
• Q-Tips
Travel Hairbrush (I have one of these stashed in practically every bag I own. They’re great!)
• Comb
• Ponytail holders
• Extra underwear and socks

I’m also thinking of adding some basic makeup (powder, mascara, and blush) because a storm might not be so conveniently situated on a Friday like it was this time and I may have to go to work in the morning. I purposely left out shampoo and conditioner because anywhere I stay (hotel or friend’s house) is going to have something I can use. Plus, extra liquids add to spill and/or freeze potential. I probably also want to toss a basic tee in there so I have a fresh shirt to wear the next day.

Is there anything I’m forgetting? I don’t want the entire bathroom, but I want to make sure I have what I would most likely need in a pinch. Input is welcome!

4 thoughts on “Planning Ahead

Leave a Reply

