Dark Blues

One year ago today, I wrote this post. It’s funny, I feel exactly the same about the dark and cold right now as I did then. I could copy and paste the entire second paragraph here. I think it’s safe to say I have mild Seasonal Affective Disorder. I’m extremely fortunate that my symptoms are not severe. I wouldn’t say I’m at the point of (or even close to) depression. But I definitely have a harder time waking up, have severely decreased energy, and want to sleep all the time. And it gets a little worse every year. Another one of the symptoms listed by WebMD is difficulty concentrating. I noticed that I have been incredibly air-headed and forgetful lately but I hadn’t thought to link it to this. It makes a lot of sense.

Rereading that post makes me renew my resolve to use my therapy lights. I have a small one on my desk at work that is on the entire time I’m there. I have another one at home that I haven’t used yet but probably should, particularly on weekends. I also need to get better about taking vitamin D. Far Northerners don’t get enough vitamin D, even in summer. The sun just doesn’t get to a high enough angle to be fully effective. But the winter is even worse.

So, I think it’s safe to say I’m looking forward to the weekend. It’s supposed to be clear (and cold) all four days, so I’ll get some good doses of sunlight. And turkey. I’ll get some good doses of turkey. Thanksgiving is my favorite meal. I would eat it once a week if I could. We’re going to my sister-in-law’s parents’ house again this year, which is always a good time. It’s even better this year because her parents moved a couple of months ago. Now instead of a 40-minute drive to the next town, it’s a 10-minute drive on the same end of the same town. Now I don’t have to worry at the end of the day when it’s dark and I’m tired.

The other thing that’s changed since last year is the little girl in the picture at the end of that post. She’s just as hard to capture on film but she’s bigger, smarter, and sassier than ever. (She doesn’t drool nearly as much though.) Oh, sweet girl.

20131127-235300.jpg

She always cheers me up.

Leave a Reply

